This is not a terribly good day for medieval studies

Redacted

There was a post here, to which some people had already responded, about the results of the consultation process over cutbacks in the Arts and Humanities at King’s College London, discussed here before. I’ve since been informed that my information was incomplete and I’ve thought it best to take the post down. As Bede had it, “quid de his scribi debeat, quemve habiturum sint finem singula, necdum sciri valeat” (HEGA V.23), a maxim that I ought to hold to more often. My apologies to the commentators.

This blog has teetered too close to gossip and unpleasantness at several points this last few weeks. I ought to know better than to put content up that I can’t safely footnote. I am going to aim for more strictly academic content from here on and leave that stuff to other places.

2 responses to “This is not a terribly good day for medieval studies

  1. Bede’s remark illustrates why so much of historiography only after they’ve been proven wrong (i.e. in the Augustinian retrospective perfect, or what i call ex post defectu).
    r

    • A missing verb there? I can’t parse this as it stands, sorry. If you like, leave another comment with the correction and I’ll edit the above accordingly and delete the editorial stuff.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.