Aside

Hiatus, I’m afraid

I’m sorry to come back in this new year of 2024 only to announce a stop, but, January has really hit hard. Quite apart from publication deadlines set as if maliciously to coincide with the beginning of teaching – the worst bit of which is that I set at least one of them – there has also been a loss in my family, which entailed a long drive to and from a deathbed, after which the car dramatically failed its MOT, and now there’s still the geographically distant but temporally imminent funeral to go to, involving coordinating bits of the family who normally don’t speak to each other, plus which… Well, that might be most of it, but it’s enough. I can’t, honestly, see when I can get a substantive post out before February, and so I should at least let you all know, and then I can submerge in slightly better conscience to deal with things. Sorry for "deprioritising" you like this, but it’s just one of those times when everything that can give must do so that everything which can’t can happen. Au revoir…

6 responses to “Hiatus, I’m afraid

  1. Thanks for the hiatus alert. Wishing (perhaps praying would be more medieval) for an improved 2024 and, of course, thoughts are with you at this time. Steve

  2. Sorry for you loss, and for what sounds like a pretty rotten run of days altogether.

  3. My condolences, and I hope that your family will pull itself together and behave for the funeral.

  4. Thankyou, all. The funeral was actually remarkably good, with the obvious proviso that my aunt didn’t get to see the good it did bringing people together. But there is still a big gap in that part of my family now. Your kindness here is much appreciated.

  5. Pingback: Some of what’s been going on | A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.