Aside

Christmas downtime

Happy end of the Latin calendar year to you all! (And if it hadn’t occurred to you that the timing of our winter break was a medieval legacy, I’m here to help.1) Since preparations for the festival press upon me as doubtless also many of you, I hope you’ll forgive the lack of a substantive post this week. I’ll be back next week! And may you all also enjoy a good break and thankyou for reading.


1. Don’t believe me, check out Carl Philipp Emanuel Nothaft, “From Sukkot to Saturnalia: The Attack on Christmas in Sixteenth-Century Chronological Scholarship” in Journal of the History of Ideas Vol. 72 (Philadelphia PA 2011), pp. 503–522, DOI: 10.1353/jhi.2011.0028, or the slightly friendlier write-up in Scott McLemee, “War on Christmas: The Prequel” in Inside Higher Ed, online here. And now that my footnote is longer than my text, I’ve probably done my thing…

4 responses to “Christmas downtime

  1. Enjoy well earned down time.
    Best wishes all.

  2. have a good one JJ. appreciate your continued presence. SJ

  3. Pingback: Jo Johnson’s New Domesday | A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.