Aside

In Apology and Explanation

I should apologise for the absence of a blog post this long (UK) weekend when you might reasonably have expected one. There is a certain amount of background stuff going on, but the main reason I’ve been quiet is that both the next two posts I have set up are ones which require a certain amount of work, one reading and one dealing with photographs, and I have been using up my available blogging time doing that work for the blogposts of the future! So I hope it’ll be worthwhile when they emerge but right now, ain’t ready, sorry…

3 responses to “In Apology and Explanation

  1. UK? How very dare you?

    According to Leftiepedia the last Monday in May is a public holiday in Scotland only in Ayr, Dundee, East Dunbartonshire, Glasgow, North Lanarkshire, Paisley, South Lanarkshire.

    The system of different councils decreeing different public holidays is excellent: the roads, beaches, golf courses, and so on don’t get so crowded.

    The universities used to have their own rules: I can remember howls of complaint from English students when Edinburgh treated Easter Monday as the first day of the new teaching term.

    • I should have bethought me, sorry! But though I’m usually aware that English and Scottish law don’t have to say the same things, I honestly didn’t realise public holidays weren’t national in the bigger sense. Well, I am educated better now, thankyou!

  2. Pingback: Some of what’s been going on | A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.