Metablog VII: automated search queries?

I am finding it hard, these days, to gauge how many people read this blog, and the main reason is what seem to be automated search queries. I still get around forty to sixty hits a day on my post “Setting Ethnicities”, about which I’ve written before, and it seems to me that although these are not consistent in numbers and although a certain number of them click through, nonetheless this must be automated. I can’t believe that so steady a string of people daily search for images of a certain Bohemian town that I won’t name and never say anything here. I imagine that somewhere some company in the town has its browser home page set for an image search of the town using ‘I’m Feeling Lucky’ and that they don’t switch the same number of computers on every day. But because it was until very recently consistently my most-read post, every day, without that necessarily implying that anyone was in fact reading it, it was hard to tell how many people were still coming in to other things.

Now I seem to have acquired another, that post I did about Bede’s De Templo. About two weeks ago that suddenly started climbing in the tables, and the reason transpired to be similar, image searches that were picking up the picture of Solomon’s Temple I borrowed for that post. I’m used to people occasionally hitting this blog for what is pretty clearly that week’s essay question, especially the posts about the Treaty of Verdun, but this has been continuous for a month and shows no signs of going away, so I guess it too is robots, of whatever strange purpose. If I had to submit figures to anyone for this blog I’d be glad about this but as I’d actually just like to know what’s happening with my readership it’s more than slightly maddening. If, by some chance, you are reading this through the pingback to one of those posts and know what’s going on, please see if you can have it stopped…

11 responses to “Metablog VII: automated search queries?

  1. I don’t know if WordPress let you see such things, but you might want to look at the Referer for the hits, which should tell you what page they came from. Probably just as importantly, it should let you filter out Lucky Googlers.


    • Alas, no joy. WordPress did use to index referrals from search engines, and that was quite annoying to in its way and I couldn’t tell what people had actually linked to me. Now they’ve hived those referrals out by magic and only index search terms. It’s only through the data that they’ve removed that I was able to discover that it was image searches not web searches bringing people here. Why on earth I am top of Google for an image that I myself found somewhere else on Google and that is still there with my use linking to it, however, I really wouldn’t want to guess…

  2. For what it’s worth I originally stumbled on your blog kind of by accident – I was actually trying to track down an old chum who shares your surname. Having an interest in the early medieval period I started to read – and the rest is history (groan).

  3. Well, you already know that I got here by accident while looking for charter images to take to a paleography reading group. And you probably also already know by tricksy, occult e-means that I’ve got you bookmarked and check to see what’s new about 3 times a week on average… sometimes more often, especially if I have something else I really should be doing. Like now. In fact, I might have to stop visiting so I can be sure you’re not spying on me ;)

    • I don’t mean to suggest that spying on you would be anything other than enthralling of course, if rather creepy, but, you can count yourself safe on that score; I have rather too much else to do than stalk people on the Internet :-)

  4. Pingback: Tenthmedieval is four and has been for a little while « A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

Leave a Reply

