Metablog V and some more seminar announcing

Last first, I have now got mail alerting me to, as well as the Institute of Historical Research’s Earlier Middle Ages Seminar, the new Cambridge Late Antique Network Seminar and the forthcoming medievalness of the Creighton Lecture, the University College London Medieval Interdisciplinary Seminar, which is being kicked off this year by no less a figure than Michael Wood, finally bringing his work on England and his work on India together. That looks exciting enough to drag me to what will be the first of three seminars that week, my goodness but it is happening. The webpage I’ve been directed to by this mail is not there (argh), so I give the programme below. I’m told that the London Society for Medieval Studies also has a very lively programme with Wendy Davies among others in it, but until they actually get their fingers out and get it on the web (academics! learn how to edit HTML! for heavens’ sake!) I can’t tell you more.

Autumn Term

27th October 2008

Michael Wood (Broadcaster & Historian) – Cholans & West Saxons: kingship & court culture in Tenth Century India & England

24th November 2008

Jane Garnett (Wadham, Oxford) & Gervase Rosser (St Catherine’s, Oxford) – The presence of miraculous images in the Middle Ages

Spring Term

19th January 2009

Joe Canning (Cambridge) – Power & authority in the political thought of Marsilius of Padua

2nd of February 2009

Peter Biller (York) – Putting heretics to the question: the case of Bernard Gui

16th March 2009

Eamon Duffy (Magdalene, Cambridge) & David d’Avray (UCL) – Mary Douglas among the historians: reflection, response, insight

Summer Term

18th May 2009

Matthew Kempshall (Wadham, Oxford) – Rhetoric & the Writing of History, 400-1500

There’s some pretty good stuff there, and even that which might not interest me normally is being given by such good people that I will go, like as not, just because I might learn something.

Now, onto matters more local. You’ll doubtless have noticed if, like a tiny fraction of the readers here, you ever click any of my links, that WordPress runs this Snap program which pops you up a preview window of the site you’re about to visit. I find this gets in my way something terrible, but is conceptually quite cute, and I’ve retained it believing that it might be useful to you the readers. Now, however, I learn that it’s giving, for one, Professor Nokes of the Unlocked Wordhoard difficulties because it clogs his computer, and though he is getting a new machine, I wonder if there are more of you. I won’t be at all sorry to switch it off (like most WordPress features, it’s configurable), but would anyone reading miss it? Speak up if you want it retained, otherwise I’ll junk it once this post moves off the front page.

I’m sure the next post will be more medieval, but at the time of writing I’ve only got a book review that I probably shouldn’t even write to think about, so I can’t guarantee anything…

7 responses to “Metablog V and some more seminar announcing

  1. I find Snaps to be, like Wright and Ayers, a distraction.

    [Promise to be in a better mood on the first Wednesday of November.]

  2. Hmmm. Tough one, Jonathan. I’d say it depends on what reading mode I’m in. If I am particularly curious about a link, the snap preview helps me decide whether or not to follow it. Otherwise it is can be distracting.

  3. *sigh* oh, to have built up a great publishing record so I could be there.

  4. just looked at the cambridge lecture site. most of my footnotes are speaking. you do know how lucky you are in england, don’t you?

  5. I wouldn’t miss it, but it also doesn’t bother me particularly. I’m willing to go the way of the masses on this one. For the greater good.

  6. Distracting.

  7. Michael, mine too, I’m amazed by the quality of the programme Alice has constructed. What’s equally astonishing, but less obvious from outside, is that this is happening in Cambridge. Alice advertised it at the IHR as “an attempt to stop Cambridge being so pathologically isolationist”, and she’s only stating the truth, though having recently arrived from Oxford (which has had an equally good seminar running for a long time) she notices it more easily perhaps. I am quite conscious of being very lucky this term. Also, I shall have more stuff for the blog than I have time to write…

    ADM, get writing (more), is the only answer. Embrace the sloppy strategy of writing the paper first and sourcing it afterwards, see how much it cuts your workload :-)

    As for Snap, well, if only one half-hearted voice can speak for it, and four are agin’ (me, Prof. Nokes, Kishnevi and Prof. Muhlberger), that seems like enough so I have disabled it. I shall try and link to sites with transparent URLs or something, Kath…

Leave a Reply

