Name in print III

First page of Jarrett, "Currency Change in pre-millennial Catalonia"

Given that this is what I originally envisaged as the purpose of this blog—that is, advertising me and all my doubtless-to-be-numerous works—I ought to have mentioned this sooner, but, I have a paper out at long last (and proofs of another in my INBOX and demands for final revisions of two more so that they can be published before the end of the year…). It’s not my most thrilling work ever, perhaps, since it is about coins, but it is at least about coins from my area and period that we don’t have. Yes, a numismatics paper with no numismatic evidence. It is “Currency change in pre-millennial Catalonia: coinage, counts and economics”, in Numismatic Chronicle Vol. 169 (London: Royal Numismatic Society [2010 for] 2009), pp. 217-243, and I’m quite pleased about it. I have a limited number of offprints, but more than are spoken for, and I have an electronic proof version which will go on the website in due course—my website is long overdue for an overhaul and I will put it up then. If you would like a copy by one or other of these means, harass me. (One reason that you might be interested is that it contains a printing and a translation of that odd hearing over passing false coinage that I was analysing a while back for evidence of comital retinues. Though, the text is only reprinted. I also plugged this paper in these posts, all of which will now have their respective ping-backs.)

Statistics: presented once, three drafts and two revision stages. Time from first submission to print: 2 years 6 months, though if I’d been marginally quicker with revisions mid-2009 that would have been 1 year 4 months, which is a lot more reasonable. Lessons: give print deadlines absolute priority, but also, stop doing proofs in a hurry or the typoes will plague you evermore.

6 responses to “Name in print III

  1. Congratulations! Unfortunately, Purdue doesn’t carry this and it doesn’t seem to be on the JSTOR list but I’ll take a look at it once you post your proof version.

    For me, numismatics is a lot like philology – I don’t understand a lot of the details of the two fields but I enjoy reading about what the changes in coinage and language can tell us about cultures.

  2. Congratulations! I have never been much of a numismatics man, unfortunately. Sort of like statistics, really. There is always something key I’ve never grasped.

  3. Statistics, though I have no formal training in it, is worth acquiring the trivial expertise needed to spot when someone else is talking rubbish-with-numbers. Numismatics, I can’t make such a justification for but there is definitely a historical point for it which I have tried to make elsewhere. I have two numismatical papers due out this year, of which this is one, but hope that mainline history will overwhelm this by year-end.

    • I absolutely agree with everything you’ve said here. There is just so much I must learn! SO MUCH

      Languages are always so distracting. Sigh.

      • I, on the other hand, really ought to tackle at least one more non-Romance language. I feel as if, if I could mystically find time and brainpower to grasp something Slavic, a whole ridiculous richness of extra data would fall into my lap. This is probably not true, but the feeling persists.

  4. Pingback: Name in Print XVI | A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

Leave a Reply

