Stock take, part II: in need of actual research

So, I have what should be a very respectable print presence, albeit a bit narrowly spread, up till late 2010. (If they ever come out.) But what then? Presumably, if things are going to take between two to four years to make it from submission to print, I need to have submitted more stuff already and at the least very soon. What’s in the bag? This post deals with the things which are not even written yet, and wonders how far off they are.

  1. Furthest of all, perhaps, is a piece with the working title “The Identity of Authority in late-Carolingian Catalonia”. This was originally going to pose, and answer, the question of the rights by which people in my area claimed to or felt that they held power. Actually aspects of that have now been swallowed into ‘Legends in their Lifetime’, which I’ll talk about in another post, and into ‘Succession to the Fisc’ below, and so I don’t quite know what it will eventually cover, but it will get written, because it’s supposed to be the first output from my next big research project and so if I ever get to do that project there will certainly be an initial paper saying, “See what I have found!” This will be it. Not hurrying this because really, unless someone gives me a job where I don’t have to run to stay up with teaching all the time—something I’m expecting to have to do initially—the project is years off. However, I now think that a version of it may surface as 2010’s Leeds paper if I don’t think of anything else.
  2. “The Continuation of Carolingian Expansion”. Already written but wrongly as half of a paper which tried to get two theories about the fragmentation of the Carolingian Empire into dialogue with each other. Half of it has now gone into ‘Legends’, again; the half that remains was originally built to take on the Pierre Bonnassie version of the ‘feudal transformation’ but I’m now looking at doing that elsewhere too. I may actually have emptied this one as it stands, but the vessel, or rather its reading list, still contains a lot of stuff about post-Carolingian development, the differences between Leonese, Castilian and Catalan ‘feudalism’ and so forth and I’m now thinking this might be where my paper for an eventual issue of a journal that I’ve been asked to coordinate about Carolingian borderlands comes from.
  3. “Critical diplomatic: a tool for analysing early medieval societies”. I’ve been luckier with this one that I ought to have been. It began as chapter 1 of my thesis, a structured rant about how tricky charters are to use unless you consider them as authored texts. I presented a paper based on that at the first of our legendary Leeds sessions, and got feedback that I have since learnt to recognise, from people who didn’t work on this stuff saying ‘wow you’ve really opened my eyes to these sources’ and from people who did but for the High Middle Ages saying ‘but we knew all this, everyone knows this’. This was what it also got from its first two journals, but I eventually found a third one who liked it, but wanted me to turn it into a full-scale introduction to and review of the field. Wow, I said, that’ll take some reading, and alas, I still haven’t had time to do it. I’m very keen on finally writing this as it will probably live longer than anything else I do if I can get it right. But when I can find the time, who knows. It’s an awful lot of work for one article.
  4. “Succession to the fisc in late-Carolingian Catalonia” or some very similar title. An old preoccupation here: do the people who hold power in my area manage to do it by controlling public land? Really? After the Carolingians, the Muslims and the Visigoths had all had their go at altering the Roman fiscus publicus? How much do we even know about the fisc? To do this properly of course I’d need to start at the Roman beginning, fight through all that Durliat stuff and then ask how much was left at each successive stage. Well, maybe later. This one actually has a time and place it’s needed, so it has to stay realisable. Instead, therefore, I’m going to start in my period and look backwards at ways in which public land was claimed or described and see how deep their various roots seem to be. Toponymics and claims to succession will loom large. I have a reading list, it’s not too awfully long, it will be done for Easter and could presumably then be submitted once it’s had its baptism of fire.

So, there’s one at least, and only six months away! So, with my usual luck, it might be out in… 2013? Perhaps there’s something that can be done quicker than that…

4 responses to “Stock take, part II: in need of actual research

  1. Pingback: Stock Take V: annual report « A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

  2. Pingback: Seminary LXIX: me telling stories « A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

  3. Pingback: Thanksgiving for Internet treasures « A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

  4. Pingback: Stock Take VI: the work, the job, the life? « A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

Leave a Reply

