My allies and I are taking over the Internet! Unless Google gets there first…

I don’t know why it should be this way, but it seems that whenever I have one or two things to announce of relevance on the Internet a whole lot of other things suddenly crop up that also need mentioning. I guess it’s just that my mind is in that frame already so I notice them. Anyway, it’s happened again so here I go with some self-aggrandising before turning your attention to some other news of digital matters.

Screenshot of the History News Network magazine website

First of all, I’m flattered to have been invited to join the team at Cliopatria, a group blog based at George Mason University in the USA that you may already be aware of. I’ve accepted (duh!) and will be adding some European medievalist perspectives to their already broad range of interests, with posts that will either be cross-posted or linked here. So there isn’t really any need to tell you this, as you’ll see the stuff anyway, but I wanted to boast.

Precept of immunity from King Charles the Simple to the canons of Paris, 911

Similarly boastful, but more useful to readers here, I gather that someone (at least two of you!) were kind enough to recommend my pair of posts on the creation of Carolingian royal charters to The Swain for his PEAA Awards (Præmium Ephemeridis Ætheriae Auctoribus, Award for Authors of Ethereal Diaries) at The Ruminate, meaning that I got that one for Best Blog Entry that Fueled Research. Wow. I wonder what I inspired you to research? Feel free to let us know. Anyway, I might revisit that topic with a bit more deliberation now that I know someone cares…

Masthead image for the 2009 IMC

Thirdly, I have been sent the latest newsletter for the International Medieval Congress for 2009, which means that I now know that the abstracts for the two sessions I’m running there, along with the much-valued colleagues who are making it happen by contributing, are now online and can be viewed. There is also lots of other exciting stuff scheduled, so feel free to have a look at the newsletter yourself. Also, as usual there are a few sessions without enough speakers, and there will be more as people refine their commitments or find that the paper they promised at a year’s distance can’t actually be written, so if you fancy the Leeds experience, you should probably keep an eye on this page. Of course you don’t have to present to go, but it’s a lot of money if you’re not also getting the exposure….

clogo

That already takes us into the Allies, doesn’t it? And just as well, I mean come on, enough about me already. Let me first announce, so as to clear all the medieval history out of the way, that it has been made public that none other than Notorious Ph.D., Girl Scholar, is hosting the next Carnivalesque, which will be the ancient/medieval half, at the end of February, and she requests your nominations for this most celebrated of blog carnivals. I have never met Dr Notorious, alas, but any ally of Carnivalesque is an ally of mine.

However, one can have too much history. This is one reason why every now and then input from or via a certain Ann Thropologist shows up here. Now, mirabile dictu, this very scholar has succumbed to the Internet and started her own blog, Karaspita. She is interested in popular movements and indigenous peoples in colonised countries, especially Bolivia, and I think a number of my readers would like what she is likely to write. And she’s linked to me so I link to her, it’s all very reciprocal. Please do have a look.

But, as heralded in the header, what are we against Google? The class action suit against Google Books has finally been settled, and the results have implications. Who better to discuss them for historians than Robert Darnton? And he has done so for the New York Review of Books, as pointed out by Ralph Luker at Cliopatria. This, seriously, is worth reading. As he points out, Google has now got about -> this <- close, firstly to establishing a digital library far in excess of any national library anywhere, but at the same time to copyrighting the digitizing of books in the USA. Tell me that’s not important if you dare.

6 responses to “My allies and I are taking over the Internet! Unless Google gets there first…

  1. Damn, you’re everywhere!

  2. Clearly I must increase my internet presence to catch up!

  3. I don’t understand why you are doing this.
    As yes there are many sites, but none of them exactly have a straight forward point to be made.

Leave a Reply

