Is this success?

It’s not very significant; there’s no salary involved, only a fairly straight swap of dining rights and access to facilities, plus an affiliation if I need one, in exchange for readiness to teach a few supervisions, but all the same Clare College in Cambridge have agreed to make me a College Research Associate. This is mainly good news for the teaching, though it may have its social benefits too and Clare is a very lovely college. But also, I think it may be the only job I’ve ever got purely through written application with no degree of who-you-know operating at all. My only contacts at Clare are either very busy being an MP or tragically dead.1 So, if I can, by my CV alone, convince people to take me on because of my research and expertise when there’s only a bit of money and a few students involved, it’s only a matter of scaling up from here…


1. Yup, that still hurts. Be peaceful, Chris, if you can.

11 responses to “Is this success?

  1. Success, yes, but I wish you yet greater success.

  2. there’s no salary involved, only a fairly straight swap of dining rights and access to facilities

    Does this mean we have to feed Clare College dinner once a term?

  3. highlyeccentric

    *does a celebratory dance*

    That’s pretty damn awesome. I wave my imaginary internet pompoms in your honour.

  4. Congratulations!

  5. First and most important, ceb: no it doesn’t, it’s only bad sentence structure. However, I reserve the right to feed individual members of Clare College dinner if they seem to suit the idea.

    Everyone else, thankyou, but it is some way off being the big deal. I shall try and make the most of it all the same, starting with working out when it actually starts, which is still unclear to me. But if I have Australians waving pompoms for me, that seems like a good start!

  6. May this be a step to bigger things! Any affiliation helps. Well done!

  7. highlyeccentric

    if I have Australians waving pompoms for me, that seems like a good start.

    There is no cheer squad better than an antipodean cheer squad.
    At least, certainly not if that cheer squad includes me. The further away I am from you when I start waving anything, the less chance of you losing an eye in the process.

  8. Janet McKnight

    Belatedly, congratulations!

    (Even if it does mean you’re much less likely to end up moving to Oxford… *sigh*)

  9. Janet, I’ve told you, find me a job and I’ll move :-) I don’t think the teaching commitments involved here prevent me at least visiting, anyway. But since I’ll not be giving up my actual job…

Leave a Reply

