Austrian connections unmade

When I wrote about Zell-am-See’s medieval heritage a while ago, I really ought to have remembered seeing it in the news before…

Medieval processional cross found in Zell am See

This is the story about some lucky Austrian woman who found what transpires to be a medieval processional cross that the Nazis looted from some place unknown and stored in the local castle at Fischhorn. Somehow, from there it got into the skip (or, for the US-English readers, dumpster) of an elderly neighbour of this woman. It has now finally been returned to its owners’ heir, as Melissa Snell reports, with links to various stories including the one I poached the image above from. Now, why didn’t I remember this when I was there, eh? That would take the stakes of skip-diving up to a new level all right…

Edit: A few more details and links in this post at Medieval Material Culture.

3 responses to “Austrian connections unmade

  1. I love this blog and stumbled across it accidentally. I’m a 10th century medieval fiction author. I would love to subscribe to your blog and get an email everytime you update it. Have you considered registering it through Blogcatalog and creating a subscription by email link? This has to be my favourite blog of all time! Thanks so much for doing such a great job.

  2. I forgot to add that I’ve added your link to my website under favourite links.

  3. Thankyou for the flattery! I’ve no intention as yet of creating a subscription through e-mail, because I think it would see little use; but there is an RSS feed for the blog at this link that you may find will do instead?

Leave a Reply

