Metablog II

Dear oh dear. Once again my stats indicate that really, there’s nothing I can do that drives traffic to this blog down so much as post in it. On the other hand, there’s little I can do to raise traffic except to post… so here is some light observation while I faff with imagery for the next planned post.

I’ve been messing with the side-bar, which causes me to want to say a couple of things. Firstly, it’s possible you may have noticed your blog dropping off the sidebar; this is a policy I have slowly come round to where if bloggers I link to don’t write anything for a full quarter, I take out the link; that side-bar’s crowded enough. So far I have not removed anyone else for any other reason, so it’s not personal I promise you.

Secondly, what happened to the University of the Blogosphere? It’s all gone 404. This seems sad.

Lastly, a tip of a hat I never wear to the Antiquarian’s Attic for a link to an apparently new site on the St Gall Plan, which has been greedily added to the Resources section. Here is a taster thumbnail! But beware: the site uses the phrase ‘objective correlative‘ in cold blood, in a way I’m not at all sure dear ol’ T. S. would have been happy with ;-)

The St Gall Plan, Codex Sangallensis 1092

10 responses to “Metablog II

  1. Here is a post I had a while ago on blogging

    http://hefenfelth.wordpress.com/2007/11/09/zaks-top-10-tips-for-blog-traffic/

    I think the comments by Dr Nokes in particular are helpful.

  2. Yes, I saw that at the time and wondered how much applied to what I was trying to do with this here Corner. I suppose I’m still wondering. Certainly, although I’ve contemplated it, realistically I don’t have the spare inspiration to generate content designed for the audience at the moment; so I’ll write about what I have to write about and hope.

    Numbers-wise overall I’m doing all right, in some terms, and as Professor Nokes said to you, one can’t really tell. I’ve complained about that difficulty before, but all I really see is trends. I could understand a trend where I post, and then a couple of days later the graph starts to climb up for a bit, and then subsides. But what I get is that I post, the graph immediately droops (perhaps I tend to post close to weekends or something?) then climbs after that couple of days… and keeps climbing. After about a week it drops again and plateaus to roughly where it was before but maybe up a bit. And I can’t complain about the overall trend at all, and I’m not sure I want to try and alter it, I just don’t understand the dynamics of it.

    So, confusion reigns. And I still haven’t got the illustration I was after…

  3. I’ve been thinking about your problem today it is hit me that I probably visit more often when you haven’t posted too (unless we are having a conversation)….because I’m looking for the next post! I know when you do post it will probably be a few days before you post again, so I’m less likely to come back for a few days.

  4. That makes a lot of sense actually! I certainly do that with some of the blogs on my blogroll whom I know won’t be posting twice in two or three days… And I can see how I fit in the same pattern. Yes, maybe that’s it.

    It occurs to me that I read Heavenfield through the Blog Surfer function on the WordPress dashboard, and so you only get an actual click-through from me when I have a comment to add. There’s another set of readers I’m not seeing, by analogy. Anyway. I should put some actual content in soon or I’m going to seem very egoistical :-)

  5. Hi Jonathan. I closed down my public Tiruncula-hosted blogs to direct my energies (bloggy and otherwise) elsewhere and scale back my Typepad membership, but I’m still out here reading. I’m sorry you’re sad! FWIW, on your current musings: I’ve got a bunch of your older posts bookmarked to go back to when I’m thinking teaching-related things, so sometimes I just cruise by to remind myself what I bookmarked and why.

  6. Good lord. Given the state Wednesday’s lecture’s currently in I’m worried that anyone has me bookmarked for teaching… Good luck with the energies. Could someone else not take on BloggyU for you? It seemed to be doing a job. Of course, you don’t see me volunteering right now which I guess is the point…

  7. Oh, it’s just when you mention paleographical things or references I want to chase up, I think, ooh, let me not lose that to the bloglines fairy. We’re in adjacent fields, more or less, so I tend to be interested in what you’re reading but won’t necessarily have read it myself.

    As for BloggyU, I did archive it before I deleted it, so if somebody wants to use the name and start it up again and repost the old posts, I’m cool with that. It just never got all that much trafffic, and running a multi-authored blog involves a certain amount of logistical bother.

  8. Thanks for mentioning the Blog Surfer function. I’ve never really used those functions but I should, so I guess I won’t show up on your counter most of the time from now on. ;-)

  9. I just want to tell you not to lose heart. I know in my case, there are a variety of reasons I don’t always comment. The biggest of which is that I am not always familiar with the subject of the post. Between you and Michelle, hi Michelle:), I spend a good deal of time fighting my raging inferiority complex. The other reason I don’t always post is that it is the end of the semester, I am about to graduate w/ my B.A., and I just do not have a lot of time. But, fear not. Though you don’t always hear from me, doesn’t mean I am not paying attention. And the odds are, there are a lot of people like me. Please keep up the good work. I am learning a lot.

  10. Michelle, drat! I suspect you of being a large number of my visible hits that will now disappear. I should never have said anything :-)

    Michael, fear not, I’m not going to stop any time soon. It’s one way of fighting my own inferiority complex…

    This thread has all become a bit personal, it’s time I drowned it with fresh content.

Leave a Reply

